Merton Council

Home Home Merton Adult Education Home Home Jobs in children's social care Home Merton Means Business Home Wandle Valley Low Carbon Zone Home Safeguarding Children Board
How do I contact my councillor?

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council chamber - Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX. View directions

No. Item


Apologies for absence


There were no apologies for absence.


Declarations of Pecuniary Interest


Councillor Russell Makin declared a non-pecuniary interest as he is a trustee of Merton Community Transport.


Minutes of the previous meeting pdf icon PDF 98 KB


RESOLVED: That the minutes of the special meeting and ordinary meeting held on 1 February 2017 are agreed as an accurate record.


Business Plan 2017-21 pdf icon PDF 34 KB

Part 4A, paragraph 3.3 of the Constitution states that the business at the Budget Council meeting shall include the following:


· receive a presentation of the Budget/Council Tax report from the relevant officers

· officers to respond to questions from members via the Mayor

· receive remarks from the Cabinet on the report

· Council to debate the report and take any motions or Amendments


In accordance with Part 4A, paragraph 10.4 of the Constitution, all decisions relating to either the substantive budget motion/proposal or any amendments to it, will be taken via a recorded vote (roll call).


Additional documents:


The Mayor outlined the procedure for this Budget Council meeting. She also reminded the Council that all budget related decisions, including proposed amendments, were required to be recorded within the minutes with a list of the names of those who voted for or against the decision or who abstained from voting. To accommodate that, a roll call vote would be taken for the substantive budget motion or any amendments to it. 


At the invitation of the Mayor, the Director of Corporate Services presented the Business Plan 2017-2021.  The Director then responded to questions from Councillors Pauline Cowper, David Williams, Judy Saunders, Brian Lewis-Lavender, Peter Southgate, Joan Henry, Janice Howard, Russell Makin, Stephen Crowe, Linda Kirby, David Simpson, Jill West, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Daniel Holden, and Suzanne Grocott.


The Leader of the Council presented the Business Plan 2017-21and formally moved the recommendations in the report whilst making his budget speech to Council, a copy of which is appended to the minutes as Appendix A.


Councillor Tobin Byers formally seconded the recommendations, and reserved his right to speak.


The Mayor then invited the oppositions Group Leaders in turn to respond to the Budget proposal and the Business Plan.


The Leader of the Conservative Group, Councillor Oonagh Moulton addressed the meeting and her speech is attached to the minutes, as Appendix B. As part of her speech, she presented the proposed amendment to the Business Plan 2017-21.


The Leader of the Merton Park Ward Independent Residents Group, Councillor Peter Southgate, addressed the meeting and his speech is attached to the minutes, as Appendix C.


The following members of the Cabinet addressed the meeting:   Councillors Mark Allison, Katy Neep, Ross Garrod and Caroline Cooper-Marbiah.


The Mayor then invited members to move proposed amendments to the Business Plan.


Councillor Oonagh Moulton moved the Conservative amendment which was seconded by Councillor David Williams.


Councillor Mary-Jane Jeanes moved the Liberal Democrat amendment 1.  The amendment was not seconded.


Councillor Mary-Jane Jeanes moved the Liberal Democrat amendment 2.  The amendment was not seconded.


The Mayor then opened up the general debate on the proposed amendment and on the proposed substantive Business Plan.  The following members spoke in the debate:  Councillors Peter McCabe, David Williams, Abigail Jones, Suzanne Grocott, Jerome Neil, Najeeb Latif, John Dehaney, John Bowcott, Mary Curtin, David Simpson, Laxmi Attawar, Mary-Jane Jeanes, Mike Brunt, Daniel Holden, Sally Kenny, James Holmes, Agatha Akyigina, Adam Bush, Martin Whelton, Charlie Chirico, Judy Saunders, Hamish Badenoch, Imran Uddin and, finally, Tobin Byers.


At the conclusion of the debate, the Mayor called for a roll-call vote on the Conservative amendment to the Business Plan 2017-2021.  Voting was as follows:


Votes in favour:  Councillors Hamish Badenoch, John Bowcott, Michael Bull, Adam Bush, Charlie Chrico, Stephen Crowe, David Dean, Suzanne Grocott, Joan Henry, Daniel Holden, James Holmes, Janice Howard, Abdul Latif, Najeeb Latif, Brian Lewis-Lavender, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Oonagh Moulton, David Simpson, Linda Taylor, Jill West, David Williams  ...  view the full minutes text for item 4.