# Agenda Item 6

**Committee: Annual Council** 

Date: 25 May 2022

Wards: All

**Subject:** Vote of Thanks to Former Councillors

Lead officer: Hannah Doody, Chief Executive

Lead member: Leader of the Council

Contact officer: Amy Dumitrescu, Democracy Services Manager

#### Recommendations:

- A. That, following their retirement from membership of the Council, the Council places on record its sincere appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the Borough by the former Councillors listed in the attached Appendix A and extends to them its grateful thanks for their activities on behalf of the Borough.
- B. That Council notes that a Special meeting will be held on 20 July 2022 to award Alderman status to eligible former Councillors and Freedom of the Borough to Councillor David Williams MBE JP.

#### 1 PURPOSE OF REPORT AND EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

1.1. This report asks Council to place on record its appreciation of the services rendered by the retiring Councillors listed in Appendix A to this report.

#### 2 DETAILS

- 2.1. In the year of election it is customary for the Council to acknowledge the service of councillors not returning following the election. In particular, the Council is asked to record its sincere appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the Borough by the following former Councillors on their retirement from membership of the Council and extends to them its grateful thanks for their activities on behalf of the Borough.
- 2.2. The Standards and General Purposes Committee met in March 2022 to approve the nomination of Councillor David Williams for Freedom of the Borough to be considered by a working group. This has since been agreed by all groups and therefore a Special Council meeting will be held on 20 July 2022 for the purposes of passing the necessary resolutions.
- 2.3. Former Councillors who have at least 15 years' cumulative service are entitled to Alderman status. 12 Councillors are eligible following the 2022 election and these will also be awarded at the Special Meeting of the Council on 20 July 2022.

## 3 ALTERNATIVE OPTIONS

3.1. None for the purposes of this report.

### 4 CONSULTATION UNDERTAKEN OR PROPOSED

4.1. None for the purposes of this report.

5	TIMETABLE	
5.1.	This report will be presented to Annual Council on 25 May 2022 for consideration.	
6	FINANCIAL, RESOURCE AND PROPERTY IMPLICATIONS	
6.1.	None for the purposes of this report.	
7	LEGAL AND STATUTORY IMPLICATIONS	
7.1.	None for the purposes of this report.	
8	HUMAN RIGHTS, EQUALITIES AND COMMUNITY COHESION IMPLICATIONS	
8.1.	None for the purposes of this report.	
9	CRIME AND DISORDER IMPLICATIONS	
9.1.	None for the purposes of this report.	
10	RISK MANAGEMENT AND HEALTH AND SAFETY IMPLICATIONS	
10.1.	None for the purposes of this report.	
11	APPENDICES – THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS ARE TO BE PUBLISHED WITH THIS REPORT AND FORM PART OF THE REPORT	
	<ul> <li>Appendix A – List of retiring Councillors.</li> </ul>	
12	BACKGROUND PAPERS	

None for the purposes of this report.

12.1.

# APPENDIX A

COUNCILLOR	TERM/S OF OFFICE
	1974 – 1978
	1978 – 1982
	1986 – October 1987
	1990 – 1994
	1994 – 1998
David Williams MBE JP	1998 – 2002
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
	2010 - 2014
	2014 – 2018
	2018-2022
	1990 - 1994
	1994 – 1998
	1998 – 2002
	2002 – 2006
Geraldine Stanford	2006 – 2010
	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	1994 – 1998
	1998 – 2002
	2002 – 2006
Nick Draper	2006 – 2010
	2010 – 2014
	2014 – 2018
	2018 - 2022
	1998 – 2002
Russell Makin	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
	2010 – 2014

	<u></u>
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
Mark Allison	2010 – 2014
	2014 – 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
David Chung	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
Oonagh Moulton	2010 - 2014
	2014 – 2018
	2018 – 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
David Simpson CBE	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
Peter Southgate	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2002 – 2006
	2006 – 2010
John Dehaney	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
David Dean	2006 – 2010

	1
	2010 – 2014
	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	1994 – 1998
James Holmes	2010 – 2014
James nomies	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2010 – 2014
Stan Anderson	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2010 – 2014
Janice Howard	2014 - 2018
	2018 - 2022
	2014 - 2018
Adam Bush	2018 - 2022
	2014 - 2018
Pauline Cowper	2018 - 2022
	2014 - 2018
Stephen Crowe	2018 - 2022
Marra Occidio	2014 - 2018
Mary Curtin	2018 - 2022
Naisah Latif	2014 - 2018
Najeeb Latif	2018 - 2022
Eloise Bailey	2018 – 2022
Nigel Benbow	2018 – 2022
Omar Bush	2018 - 2022
Ben Butler	2018 – 2022
Ed Gretton	2018 - 2022
Rebecca Lanning	2018 - 2022
Hayley Ormrod	2018 - 2022
Owen Pritchard	2018 - 2022
Carl Quilliam	2018 - 2022
Dave Ward	2018 – 2022

Dickie Wilkinson	2018 – 2022