Merton Council

Home Home Merton Adult Education Home Home Jobs in children's social care Home Merton Means Business Home Wandle Valley Low Carbon Zone Home Safeguarding Children Board
How do I contact my councillor?

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council chamber - Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX


No. Item


Apologies for absence

Additional documents:


An apology was received from Councillor Maxi Martin.




Declarations of interest

Additional documents:


No declarations were received




Minutes of the previous meeting pdf icon PDF 94 KB

Additional documents:




The minutes of the Council Meeting held on 3 February 2016, were approved as a correct record, subject to an amendment of item 18 Petitions, that Councillor David Dean’s name be replaced with Councillor Brenda Fraser.




Business Plan 2016-20 pdf icon PDF 8 MB

Part 4A, Paragraph 3.3 of the Constitution states that for the Budget

Council meeting shall include–


·     receive a presentation of the Budget/Council Tax report from the relevant officers


·     officers to respond to questions from members via the Mayor


·     to receive remarks from the Cabinet on the report


·      Council to debate the report and take any motions or Amendments


Please note – All decisions relating to either the substantive budget motion/proposal or any amendments to it, will have to be taken via a recorded vote (Roll Call).

Additional documents:


The Mayor briefly explained procedure for this Budget Council meeting. He also reminded the Council that all Budget related decisions, including proposed amendments, were required to be recorded within the minutes with a list of the names of those who voted for or against the decision or who abstained from voting. To accommodate that, a ‘Roll Call’ would be used for each of the votes relating to the substantive budget motion or any amendments to it. 


The Mayor invited the Director of Corporate Services to present the Business Plan 2016-20 to the Council. The Director of Corporate Services then responded to questions on the report from Councillors Fidelis Gadzama, David Simpson, Greg Udeh, Stephen Crowe, Peter Southgate, Katy Neep, Charlie Chirico, Stan Anderson, Daniel Holden, Joan Henry, Jill West, Peter Walker, Suzanne Grocott and Laxmi Attawar respectively.


The Leader of the Council then addressed the Business Plan 2016-20. Councillor Stephen Alambritis moved the recommendations as detailed in the report whilst making his budget speech to Council, a copy of which is appended to the minutes as Appendix A.


Councillor Tobin Byers formally seconded the recommendations.

The Mayor then invited the oppositions Group Leaders in turn to respond to the Budget proposal and the Business Plan.


The Leader of the Conservative Group, Councillor Oonagh Moulton addressed the meeting and her speech is attached to the minutes, as Appendix B.


The Leader of the Merton Park Ward Independent Residents Group, Councillor Peter Southgate, addressed the meeting and his speech is attached to the minutes, as Appendix C.


Members of the Cabinet were then invited to address the meeting. The following took that opportunity:


·           The Cabinet Member for Finance, Councillor Mark Allison

·           The Cabinet Member for Community Safety, Engagement and Equalities, Councillor Edith Macauley

·           The Cabinet Member for Community and Culture, Councillor Nick Draper.

·           The Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Health, Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah


The Mayor then invited any Councillors to move proposed amendments to the Business Plan.


Councillor Oonagh Moulton moved the Combined Opposition Budget Amendment, (which can be found as Agenda Item 5), which was seconded by Councillor Peter Southgate


Councillor Suzanne Grocott moved the Conservative Amendment 1, (which can be found as Agenda Item 6), which was seconded by Councillor David Williams


Councillor James Holmes moved the Conservative Amendment 2, (which can be found as Agenda Item 7), which was seconded by Councillor David Dean.


The Mayor then opened up the general debate on the three proposed amendments and on the proposed substantive Business Plan. Councillors Jeff Hanna, Suzanne Grocott, Peter Walker, David Williams, Ross Garrod, James Holmes, Abigail Jones, David Dean, John Dehaney, John Sargeant, Mary Curtin, Mary-Jane Jeanes, Sally Kenny, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Martin Whelton, Judy Saunders, Adam Bush, Imran Uddin, Agatha Akyigyina, John Bowcott, Marsie Skeete, Ed Foley, Brenda Fraser, Najeeb Latif, Dennis Pearce, Hamish Badenoch and Tobin Byers, all spoke in the general debate. Following the conclusion of the general debate, the Mayor called for the Council to vote on each of the amendments in  ...  view the full minutes text for item 4.